Skip to content

sugar sticks: a dahlia dream.

May 28, 2010

sugar sticks.

He was sitting across the table staring intently at me, thinking carefully before speaking.  After a deep breath he said,

“Here’s the thing,” he looked around nervously.  “I wanted to give you this whole sugar stick and I did.”  He set a pencil in front of me to represent the sugar stick. “But then I took it away.” And he snatched the pencil away from me.  “And now I’m giving it back, but only a small piece.” and he broke off the tip of the pencil with the eraser on it and gave it to me.

I paused and laughed.  “That sounds good to me.”  Then I smiled and leaned in toward him and said, “I don’t want to gain too much weight anyway.”

Then I jolted awake.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

