Skip to content

fucking patriarchy!

October 8, 2009

okay…okay…i don’t like being harassed verbally walking down the street every day, but it happens. it happens every morning noon and night no matter where i go (or any woman for that matter). we hear “hey baby”, “looking good”, “ey mami”, “mmmmm beautiful”, etc constantly. hearing it from dirty old men on the street is one thing, experiencing it in the hallways of my teaching job is another.

i was walking past my department bulletin board and one of the older male professors said “my, there sure are a lot of women’s studies classes.” and i said, “yes it’s wonderful. I teach women’s studies!” I was beaming with pride with this statement. his response was, “i wouldn’t be too proud of that if i were you.” and then he looked at my ass and my legs and said, “why don’t you try men’s studies?” I stood there, speechless and stunned.

i stormed into my classroom, slammed my things down and said, “students, you will not believe what just happened to me.” I explained the story, much like how i did here, and one of my male students replied, “you know you like it”.

OH HELL NO. i was off. “excuse me? you think i WANT that attention? you think i LIKE it? you thing i hope to GET it? That’s like saying girls are ASKED to be raped, or harassed or assaulted. Ladies in this class, do you like that kind of attention?” (responses were: ‘no’, ‘that’s annoying’, ‘it’s scary’). “yeah, yeah that’s right. how many of you women hate it?” (all raised their hands). “THANK YOU. so men, before you decide to cat call, think about this little lesson today. also, keep this in mind: do you want someone talking to your sisters like that? your mother? your daughter??? NO. so THINK ABOUT THAT!”.

OH SHIT! i was so feisty. when i told my second class the story, a few students stood up and said “where he at? who said that? you don’t talk to my professor that way.” it.was.amazing.

i love my job…but it can be really hard sometimes.

Leave a Reply

