Skip to content

lady liberty, night court, and my idiot father.

November 3, 2008

"Night Court" cast one of my favorite things to do between the ages of 4 and 7 was to watch “night court” with my father.  i can remember the beginning of the show so well, and i remember thinking how scary nyc looked.  but my dad would always say that nyc was a great place because it symbolized america’s freedom, mainly because of lady liberty.

now i see the statue of liberty a couple of times a week on a train.  i saw it tonight in fact.  it is pretty cool to look at, and the first several weeks i lived here the “night court” theme song would play in my head every time i saw the city at night.  I remember my dad saying that nyc wasn’t such a bad place anymore since giulianni cleaned it up.  i didn’t know what that meant then, but it sounded good to me.

today my father got married.  he told me of his upcoming nuptuals in an email last week.  that’s right, an email. my sister called me tonight to let me know it had happened, and was shocked to discover that he hadn’t called me to let me know.  oh well.  i’m not going to pretend like it doesn’t hurt, because it does.  it hurts like hell.  and this transition to a new place has been difficult, and was made more difficult by his lack of interest.  i went to see my sister, who lives a block away from our dad, the night before i left for new york.  i called him to let him know i was there and he never came over to say good bye, though my sister warned him that it may be the last time he ever sees me.

i don’t want to stay angry with him forever, but he’s making it really hard for me.  i’m so hurt and upset that i can’t call him and tell him that i see “night court” almost every day on the way to work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

